Food Additives, Food Ingredients Supplier - Foodchem

 > Is Agar Agar Gluten Free
 Is Agar Agar Gluten Free

    Is Agar Agar Gluten Free

    by Shawn 2014-12-12

    Agar Agar is a gelatinous substance initially isolated from algae, available as white powder or strip form. It’s widely used as a vegetarian replacement of gelatin in food production for its gelling effect and vegetable source.

    Is Agar Agar gluten free?

    Yes. Agar Agar is gluten free and widely used in gluten free food to provide stronger texture to jellies, puddings, and custards.

    Why is Agar Agar gluten free?

    To answer this question, we need to clarify another question: what is gluten. Gluten is protein composite found in wheat and related grains, including barley and rye. (Wikipedia) First, gluten is a protein. Second, gluten is mainly found in wheat and related grains. As we mentioned before, Agar Agaris a polysaccharide which is significantly different from protein. Raw materials used in manufacturing of Agar Agar are algae; Agar Agar barely includes gluten impurity. So, Agar Agar is gluten free.

    How is Agar Agar used in gluten free food?

    Agar Agar is widely used in food production to provide stronger texture to jellies, puddings, and custards. Agar Agar is also widely used in daily gluten free recipe, such as jellies and puddings. Please follow professional instructions to decide the appropriate combination and dosage.

    Why should you go Gluten free?

    Celiac disease: Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease that attacks the small intestine due to the presence of gluten, for which a gluten-free diet is the only medically-accepted treatment. In 2009 research showed between 0.5 and 1.0 percent of people in the US and UK are sensitive to gluten due to celiac disease. So people with Celiac disease have to stick to gluten free diet to avoid unexpected side effect caused by consumption of gluten.

    Non-celiac gluten sensitivity: Some people may be sensitive to gluten but do not have celiac disease and feel better on a diet with less gluten. However, there are no specific symptoms confirmed. Non-celiac gluten sensitivity also drives more people to gluten free diet when people believe that they feel better when eating gluten free.

    As a top supplier of food ingredients, Foodchem has been supplying gluten free Agar Agar for over 10 years. Feel free to contact us if you need gluten free Agar Agar. Email: Tel: +86-21-2206-3075.

Tel: +86 21 2206 3075
Fax: +86 21 5876 8440
Side Effects
Applications and Uses
Price Trends
Where to Buy Ingredients
Halal Ingredients
Kosher Ingredients
Gluten Free Ingredients
Technical Update:
Gentiopicroside Side...
Gentian Root Extract...
Where to buy Saponin...
Where to buy Yucca E...
Copyright@2003-2017 All rights reserved Foodchem International Corporation
Language: AE | JP | RU | VN | KR | TR | ES | FR | PT | DE | IT | FA | MS
Dextrosemonohydrat   安息香酸ナトリウム粉末   분리 된 콩 단백질   Disidratata Aglio in polvere