Food Additives, Food Ingredients Supplier - Foodchem

 > Is Ethyl Maltol Gluten Free
 Is Ethyl Maltol Gluten Free

    Is Ethyl Maltol Gluten Free

    by Shawn 2015-05-27

    Ethyl Maltol is a common flavorant manufactured through chemical synthesis from maltol, available as white crystalline powder. It's widely used as flavour enhancer in food & beverage for its a naturally occurring organic compound that is used primarily as a flavor enhancer.

    Is Ethyl Maltol gluten free?

    Yes. Ethyl Maltol is gluten free and widely used in gluten free food to provide enhance flavor and sweetness of the food, is now applied in a wider range of savory food to chocolate.

    Why is Ethyl Maltol gluten free?

    To answer this question, we need to clarify another question: what is gluten. Gluten is protein composite found in wheat and related grains, including barley and rye. (Wikipedia) First, gluten is a protein. Second, gluten is mainly found in wheat and related grains. As we mentioned before, Ethyl Maltolis a common flavorant which is significantly different from protein. Raw materials used in manufacturing of Ethyl Maltol are the synthesized chemical ingredients; Ethyl Maltol barely includes gluten impurity. So, Ethyl Maltol is gluten free.

    How is Ethyl Maltol used in gluten free food?

    Ethyl Maltol is widely used in food & beverage to provide enhance flavor and sweetness of the food, is now applied in a wider range of savory food to chocolate. Ethyl Maltol is usually used in processed food rather than daily recipe.

    Why should you go Gluten free?

    Celiac disease: Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease that attacks the small intestine due to the presence of gluten, for which a gluten-free diet is the only medically-accepted treatment. In 2009 research showed between 0.5 and 1.0 percent of people in the US and UK are sensitive to gluten due to celiac disease. So people with Celiac disease have to stick to gluten free diet to avoid unexpected side effect caused by consumption of gluten.

    Non-celiac gluten sensitivity: Some people may be sensitive to gluten but do not have celiac disease and feel better on a diet with less gluten. However, there are no specific symptoms confirmed. Non-celiac gluten sensitivity also drives more people to gluten free diet when people believe that they feel better when eating gluten free.

    As a top supplier of food ingredients, Foodchem has been supplying gluten free Ethyl Maltol for over 10 years. Feel free to contact us if you need gluten free Ethyl Maltol. Email: Tel: +86-21-2206-3075.

Tel: +86 21 2206 3075
Fax: +86 21 5876 8440
Side Effects
Applications and Uses
Price Trends
Where to Buy Ingredients
Halal Ingredients
Kosher Ingredients
Gluten Free Ingredients
Technical Update:
Gentiopicroside Side...
Gentian Root Extract...
Where to buy Saponin...
Where to buy Yucca E...
Copyright@2003-2017 All rights reserved Foodchem International Corporation
Language: AE | JP | RU | VN | KR | TR | ES | FR | PT | DE | IT | FA | MS
Goma Xantana   фолиевая кислота   天然バニリン   탈수 마늘 분말