Stearic Acid is a saturated fatty acid with an 18-carbon chain manufactured through hydrolysis of triglycerides, available as white flake or white powder. It’s widely used as lubricants, softening and release agents in food production with E number E570 in food production for its used to produce dietary supplements.
Yes. Stearic Acid is gluten free and widely used in gluten free food to provide a great dietary supplement that are essential for human health to baked food.
To answer this question, we need to clarify another question: what is gluten. Gluten is protein composite found in wheat and related grains, including barley and rye. (Wikipedia) First, gluten is a protein. Second, gluten is mainly found in wheat and related grains. As we mentioned before, Stearic Acidis a saturated fatty acid with an 18-carbon chain which is significantly different from protein. Raw materials used in manufacturing of Stearic Acid are ther synthesized chemical ingredients; Stearic Acid barely includes gluten impurity. So, Stearic Acid is gluten free.
Stearic Acid is widely used in food production to provide a great dietary supplement that are essential for human health to baked food. Stearic Acid is usually used in processed food rather than daily recipe.
Celiac disease: Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease that attacks the small intestine due to the presence of gluten, for which a gluten-free diet is the only medically-accepted treatment. In 2009 research showed between 0.5 and 1.0 percent of people in the US and UK are sensitive to gluten due to celiac disease. So people with Celiac disease have to stick to gluten free diet to avoid unexpected side effect caused by consumption of gluten.
Non-celiac gluten sensitivity: Some people may be sensitive to gluten but do not have celiac disease and feel better on a diet with less gluten. However, there are no specific symptoms confirmed. Non-celiac gluten sensitivity also drives more people to gluten free diet when people believe that they feel better when eating gluten free.As a top supplier of food ingredients, Foodchem has been supplying gluten free Stearic Acid for over 10 years. Feel free to contact us if you need gluten free Stearic Acid. Email: firstname.lastname@example.org. Tel: +86-21-2206-3075.