Food Additives, Food Ingredients Supplier - Foodchem

 > Is Sodium Hydroxide Gluten Free
 Is Sodium Hydroxide Gluten Free

    Is Sodium Hydroxide Gluten Free

    by Shawn 2015-05-25

    Sodium Hydroxide is a inorganic alkali manufactured through electrolytic chloralkali process, available as white solid. It's widely used as food preparation agent in food production for its cleaning agent.

    Is Sodium Hydroxide gluten free?

    Yes. Sodium Hydroxide is gluten free and widely used in gluten free food to provide strong cleaning agent to washing or chemical peeling of fruits and vegetables, chocolate and cocoa processing.

    Why is Sodium Hydroxide gluten free?

    To answer this question, we need to clarify another question: what is gluten. Gluten is protein composite found in wheat and related grains, including barley and rye. (Wikipedia) First, gluten is a protein. Second, gluten is mainly found in wheat and related grains. As we mentioned before, Sodium Hydroxideis a inorganic alkali which is significantly different from protein. Raw materials used in manufacturing of Sodium Hydroxide are ther synthesized chemical ingredients; Sodium Hydroxide barely includes gluten impurity. So, Sodium Hydroxide is gluten free.

    How is Sodium Hydroxide used in gluten free food?

    Sodium Hydroxide is widely used in food production to provide strong cleaning agent to washing or chemical peeling of fruits and vegetables, chocolate and cocoa processing. Sodium Hydroxide is usually used in processed food rather than daily recipe.

    Why should you go Gluten free?

    Celiac disease: Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease that attacks the small intestine due to the presence of gluten, for which a gluten-free diet is the only medically-accepted treatment. In 2009 research showed between 0.5 and 1.0 percent of people in the US and UK are sensitive to gluten due to celiac disease. So people with Celiac disease have to stick to gluten free diet to avoid unexpected side effect caused by consumption of gluten.

    Non-celiac gluten sensitivity: Some people may be sensitive to gluten but do not have celiac disease and feel better on a diet with less gluten. However, there are no specific symptoms confirmed. Non-celiac gluten sensitivity also drives more people to gluten free diet when people believe that they feel better when eating gluten free.

    As a top supplier of food ingredients, Foodchem has been supplying gluten free Sodium Hydroxide for over 10 years. Feel free to contact us if you need gluten free Sodium Hydroxide. Email: Tel: +86-21-2206-3075.

Tel: +86 21 2206 3075
Fax: +86 21 5876 8440
Side Effects
Applications and Uses
Price Trends
Where to Buy Ingredients
Halal Ingredients
Kosher Ingredients
Gluten Free Ingredients
Technical Update:
Gentiopicroside Side...
Gentian Root Extract...
Where to buy Saponin...
Where to buy Yucca E...
Copyright@2003-2017 All rights reserved Foodchem International Corporation
Language: AE | JP | RU | VN | KR | TR | ES | FR | PT | DE | IT | FA | MS
Protein đậu nành thô   Vitamin A Palmitate (Retinyl Palmitate)   Glutammato monosodico   aspartame