Food Additives, Food Ingredients Supplier - Foodchem

 > Is Propylene Glycol Gluten Free
 Is Propylene Glycol Gluten Free

    Is Propylene Glycol Gluten Free

    by Shawn 2014-12-17

    Propylene Glycol is an organic compound manufactured through chemical synthesis, available as colorless transparent viscous liquid. It’s widely used as emulsifier (with E number E1520) in food production for its ability to blend oil and water.

    Is Propylene Glycol gluten free?

    Yes. Propylene Glycol is gluten free and widely used in gluten free food to provide uniform liquid texture to Jam, sausage, canned and pickled products.

    Why is Propylene Glycol gluten free?

    To answer this question, we need to clarify another question: what is gluten. Gluten is protein composite found in wheat and related grains, including barley and rye. (Wikipedia) First, gluten is a protein. Second, gluten is mainly found in wheat and related grains. As we mentioned before, Propylene Glycolis an alcohol which is significantly different from protein. Raw materials used in manufacturing of Propylene Glycol are propylene; Propylene Glycol barely includes gluten impurity. So, Propylene Glycol is gluten free.

    How is Propylene Glycol used in gluten free food?

    Propylene Glycol is widely used in food production to provide uniform liquid texture to Jam, sausage, canned and pickled products. Propylene Glycol is usually used in processed food rather than daily recipe.

    Why should you go Gluten free?

    Celiac disease: Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease that attacks the small intestine due to the presence of gluten, for which a gluten-free diet is the only medically-accepted treatment. In 2009 research showed between 0.5 and 1.0 percent of people in the US and UK are sensitive to gluten due to celiac disease. So people with Celiac disease have to stick to gluten free diet to avoid unexpected side effect caused by consumption of gluten.

    Non-celiac gluten sensitivity: Some people may be sensitive to gluten but do not have celiac disease and feel better on a diet with less gluten. However, there are no specific symptoms confirmed. Non-celiac gluten sensitivity also drives more people to gluten free diet when people believe that they feel better when eating gluten free.

    As a top supplier of food ingredients, Foodchem has been supplying gluten free Propylene Glycol for over 10 years. Feel free to contact us if you need gluten free Propylene Glycol. Email: inquiry@foodchem.cn. Tel: +86-21-2206-3075.

Contact:
Tel: +86 21 2206 3075
Fax: +86 21 5876 8440
Email:inquiry@foodchem.cn
FoodAdditives
Resources:
Side Effects
Msds
Applications and Uses
Price Trends
Special:
Where to Buy Ingredients
Halal Ingredients
Kosher Ingredients
Gluten Free Ingredients
Technical Update:
Gentiopicroside Side...
Gentian Root Extract...
Where to buy Saponin...
Where to buy Yucca E...
Copyright@2003-2017 All rights reserved Foodchem International Corporation
Language: AE | JP | RU | VN | KR | TR | ES | FR | PT | DE | IT | FA | MS
Vanilina   carraghénane   Vanillina naturale   Acido sorbico