Food Additives, Food Ingredients Supplier - Foodchem

 > Is Potassium Benzoate Gluten Free
 Is Potassium Benzoate Gluten Free

    Is Potassium Benzoate Gluten Free

    by Shawn 2014-12-16

    Potassium Benzoate is the potassium salt of benzoic acid manufactured through chemical synthesis, available as white granular. It’s widely used as preservatives in acidic food and beverage for its high stability under acidity environment.

    Is Potassium Benzoate gluten free?

    Yes. Potassium Benzoate is gluten free and widely used in gluten free food to provide longer shelf-life to soft drinks and concentrated fruit juice.

    Why is Potassium Benzoate gluten free?

    To answer this question, we need to clarify another question: what is gluten. Gluten is protein composite found in wheat and related grains, including barley and rye. (Wikipedia) First, gluten is a protein. Second, gluten is mainly found in wheat and related grains. As we mentioned before, Potassium Benzoateis a Benzoate salt which is significantly different from protein. Raw materials used in manufacturing of Potassium Benzoate are potassium hydroxide and Benzoic Acid; Potassium Benzoate barely includes gluten impurity. So, Potassium Benzoate is gluten free.

    How is Potassium Benzoate used in gluten free food?

    Potassium Benzoate is widely used in acidic food and beverage to provide longer shelf-life to soft drinks and concentrated fruit juice. Potassium Benzoate is usually used in processed food rather than daily recipe.

    Why should you go Gluten free?

    Celiac disease: Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease that attacks the small intestine due to the presence of gluten, for which a gluten-free diet is the only medically-accepted treatment. In 2009 research showed between 0.5 and 1.0 percent of people in the US and UK are sensitive to gluten due to celiac disease. So people with Celiac disease have to stick to gluten free diet to avoid unexpected side effect caused by consumption of gluten.

    Non-celiac gluten sensitivity: Some people may be sensitive to gluten but do not have celiac disease and feel better on a diet with less gluten. However, there are no specific symptoms confirmed. Non-celiac gluten sensitivity also drives more people to gluten free diet when people believe that they feel better when eating gluten free.

    As a top supplier of food ingredients, Foodchem has been supplying gluten free Potassium Benzoate for over 10 years. Feel free to contact us if you need gluten free Potassium Benzoate. Email: Tel: +86-21-2206-3075.

Tel: +86 21 2206 3075
Fax: +86 21 5876 8440
Side Effects
Applications and Uses
Price Trends
Where to Buy Ingredients
Halal Ingredients
Kosher Ingredients
Gluten Free Ingredients
Technical Update:
Gentiopicroside Side...
Gentian Root Extract...
Where to buy Saponin...
Where to buy Yucca E...
Copyright@2003-2017 All rights reserved Foodchem International Corporation
Language: AE | JP | RU | VN | KR | TR | ES | FR | PT | DE | IT | FA | MS
Agar-Agar En Polvo   صمغ الزانثان   Sodium Saccharin Anhydrous   Carbossimetilcellulosa