Citric Acid Monohydrate is a common form of Citric Acid, available as colourless crystal or white crystal powder. It’s widely used as acidulant, flavoring and preservative in food and beverages, especially soft drinks for its acidic taste.
Yes. Citric Acid Monohydrate is gluten free and widely used in gluten free food to provide fresh acidic taste to soft drinks.
To answer this question, we need to clarify another question: what is gluten. Gluten is protein composite found in wheat and related grains, including barley and rye. (Wikipedia) First, gluten is a protein. Second, gluten is mainly found in wheat and related grains. As we mentioned before, Citric Acid Monohydrateis an organic acid which is significantly different from protein. Raw materials used in manufacturing of Citric Acid Monohydrate are sucrose or glucose derived from corn steep liquor, molasses, hydrolyzed corn starch; Citric Acid Monohydrate barely includes gluten impurity. So, Citric Acid Monohydrate is gluten free.
Citric Acid Monohydrate is widely used in food and beverages, especially soft drinks to provide fresh acidic taste to soft drinks. Citric Acid Monohydrate is also widely used in daily gluten free recipe, such as salad. Please follow professional instructions to decide the appropriate combination and dosage.
Celiac disease: Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease that attacks the small intestine due to the presence of gluten, for which a gluten-free diet is the only medically-accepted treatment. In 2009 research showed between 0.5 and 1.0 percent of people in the US and UK are sensitive to gluten due to celiac disease. So people with Celiac disease have to stick to gluten free diet to avoid unexpected side effect caused by consumption of gluten.
Non-celiac gluten sensitivity: Some people may be sensitive to gluten but do not have celiac disease and feel better on a diet with less gluten. However, there are no specific symptoms confirmed. Non-celiac gluten sensitivity also drives more people to gluten free diet when people believe that they feel better when eating gluten free.As a top supplier of food ingredients, Foodchem has been supplying gluten free Citric Acid Monohydrate for over 10 years. Feel free to contact us if you need gluten free Citric Acid Monohydrate. Email: email@example.com. Tel: +86-21-2206-3075.