Food Additives, Food Ingredients Supplier - Foodchem

 > Is Betaine Gluten Free
 Is Betaine Gluten Free

    Is Betaine Gluten Free

    by Shawn 2015-06-07

    Betaine is a group of neutral chemical compounds with a positively charged cationic functional group manufactured through plant extraction or chemical synthesis, available as white crystals or crystalline powder. It's widely used as nutritional supplements in food production for its a vitamin derived from choline.

    Is Betaine gluten free?

    Yes. Betaine is gluten free and widely used in gluten free food to provide a great dietary supplement that are essential for human health to processed food.

    Why is Betaine gluten free?

    To answer this question, we need to clarify another question: what is gluten. Gluten is protein composite found in wheat and related grains, including barley and rye. (Wikipedia) First, gluten is a protein. Second, gluten is mainly found in wheat and related grains. As we mentioned before, Betaineis a group of neutral chemical compounds which is significantly different from protein. Raw materials used in manufacturing of Betaine are ther synthesized chemical ingredients; Betaine barely includes gluten impurity. So, Betaine is gluten free.

    How is Betaine used in gluten free food?

    Betaine is widely used in food production to provide a great dietary supplement that are essential for human health to processed food. Betaine is usually used in processed food rather than daily recipe.

    Why should you go Gluten free?

    Celiac disease: Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease that attacks the small intestine due to the presence of gluten, for which a gluten-free diet is the only medically-accepted treatment. In 2009 research showed between 0.5 and 1.0 percent of people in the US and UK are sensitive to gluten due to celiac disease. So people with Celiac disease have to stick to gluten free diet to avoid unexpected side effect caused by consumption of gluten.

    Non-celiac gluten sensitivity: Some people may be sensitive to gluten but do not have celiac disease and feel better on a diet with less gluten. However, there are no specific symptoms confirmed. Non-celiac gluten sensitivity also drives more people to gluten free diet when people believe that they feel better when eating gluten free.

    As a top supplier of food ingredients, Foodchem has been supplying gluten free Betaine for over 10 years. Feel free to contact us if you need gluten free Betaine. Email: Tel: +86-21-2206-3075.

Tel: +86 21 2206 3075
Fax: +86 21 5876 8440
Side Effects
Applications and Uses
Price Trends
Where to Buy Ingredients
Halal Ingredients
Kosher Ingredients
Gluten Free Ingredients
Technical Update:
Gentiopicroside Side...
Gentian Root Extract...
Where to buy Saponin...
Where to buy Yucca E...
Copyright@2003-2017 All rights reserved Foodchem International Corporation
Language: AE | JP | RU | VN | KR | TR | ES | FR | PT | DE | IT | FA | MS
Gluten De Trigo   Xanthan Gum   Sorbate de potassium   Disidratata Aglio granulare