Food Additives, Food Ingredients Supplier - Foodchem

 > Is Carrageenan Gluten Free
 Is Carrageenan Gluten Free

    Is Carrageenan Gluten Free

    by Shawn 2014-12-16

    Carrageenan is a polysaccharide isolated from red edible seaweeds, available as cream white powder. It’s widely used as gelling, thickening, and stabilizing agent in food and beverage industry for high gelling effect.

    Is Carrageenan gluten free?

    Yes. Carrageenan is gluten free and widely used in gluten free food to provide stronger texture and better mouthfeel to salad dressing, jelly and Candy.

    Why is Carrageenan gluten free?

    To answer this question, we need to clarify another question: what is gluten. Gluten is protein composite found in wheat and related grains, including barley and rye. (Wikipedia) First, gluten is a protein. Second, gluten is mainly found in wheat and related grains. As we mentioned before, Carrageenanis a polysaccharide which is significantly different from protein. Raw materials used in manufacturing of Carrageenan are red edible seaweeds; Carrageenan barely includes gluten impurity. So, Carrageenan is gluten free.

    How is Carrageenan used in gluten free food?

    Carrageenan is widely used in food and beverage industry to provide stronger texture and better mouthfeel to salad dressing, jelly and Candy. Carrageenan is also widely used in daily gluten free recipe, such as salad dressing. Please follow professional instructions to decide the appropriate combination and dosage.

    Why should you go Gluten free?

    Celiac disease: Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease that attacks the small intestine due to the presence of gluten, for which a gluten-free diet is the only medically-accepted treatment. In 2009 research showed between 0.5 and 1.0 percent of people in the US and UK are sensitive to gluten due to celiac disease. So people with Celiac disease have to stick to gluten free diet to avoid unexpected side effect caused by consumption of gluten.

    Non-celiac gluten sensitivity: Some people may be sensitive to gluten but do not have celiac disease and feel better on a diet with less gluten. However, there are no specific symptoms confirmed. Non-celiac gluten sensitivity also drives more people to gluten free diet when people believe that they feel better when eating gluten free.

    As a top supplier of food ingredients, Foodchem has been supplying gluten free Carrageenan for over 10 years. Feel free to contact us if you need gluten free Carrageenan. Email: Tel: +86-21-2206-3075.

Tel: +86 21 2206 3075
Fax: +86 21 5876 8440
Side Effects
Applications and Uses
Price Trends
Where to Buy Ingredients
Halal Ingredients
Kosher Ingredients
Gluten Free Ingredients
Technical Update:
Gentiopicroside Side...
Gentian Root Extract...
Where to buy Saponin...
Where to buy Yucca E...
Copyright@2003-2017 All rights reserved Foodchem International Corporation
Language: AE | JP | RU | VN | KR | TR | ES | FR | PT | DE | IT | FA | MS
стевия   Agar Agar Streifen   카라기난   Acido citrico anidro